CNCN Travel Web - Handy Encyclopedia of Tourism

CNCN Travel > Anhui travel

Anhui travel  

Located in the eastern part of China and crosses over the basins of Yangtze and Huai River. It is the geographical transitional area of the intersection between north and south China. It is about 300 kms from East China Sea and subjects to the inner-land coastal area. It neighbors with Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Jiangxi, Hubei and Shandong, etc.

Area: 139,600 square kms.

Population: a population of 59,860,000 in total.

Landform: Plain of North Huai River, Hill of Yangtze and Huai River, Ground of Dabie Mountain, Wanzhong Plain (including Chaohu Plain, a part of plains along middle and down Yangtze River), Wannan Mountainous Area (Yellow Mountain, Jiuhua Mountain, etc.)

Famous Mountains: Yellow Mountain (Guangming Peak 1841m), Jiuhua Mountain (Shiwang Summit 1,342m).

Rivers and Lakes The main rivers are Yangtze River (the length of which flows through the province is around 400 kms), Huai River and its branches such as Yinghe, Wohe, etc. Main lakes are Chao Lake (the first largest lake in the province), Daguan Lake, Bo Lake, Caizi Lake, Nanyi Lake and Wabu Lake, etc.

Traditional Handicrafts: The traditional handicrafts includes Shucheng's Bamboo Mat, Wuhu "Three Knives" (Scissors, kitchen knife, and razor) and Iron Painting, Rice Paper of Jing county and the ink, ink stone and writing brush of She county (Huizhou).

Important Cities

Hefei: the capital of Anhui province and new industrial city.

Huainan and Hauibei: the two famous coal industrial cities south and north of Huai River. 

Bengbu: the key transportation position both water and land in Huai River and Jinghu Railway. Maanshan: the new base of steel industry in south Yangtze River.