CNCN Travel Web - Handy Encyclopedia of Tourism

CNCN Travel > Macao Travel > kun-lam-temple

Kun lam Temple  
Kun Lam Temple
With a history dating as far back as 1632 in the Ming Dynasty (1368 - 1644) it has many similarities with other ancient Chinese temples. It is also known as the site of the first Sino-American treaty, which was signed in 1844.

The Kun Iam Temple has three main shrines  situated one behind the other. It consists of the Hall of Sakyamuni, the Buddha of Longevity Hall and the Kun Iam Hall, with several small shrines around these three main halls. Facing the gate of the Buddhist monastery, the Hall of Sakyamuni is dedicated to three gilded statues. The statue of Sakyamuni sits in the middle. A bronze bell, over 300 years old, hangs beside the hall. The Buddha of Longevity adorns the Longevity Hall. Serene and mild, this statue is a symbol of Buddha's purpose to deliver all living creatures from torment. The Kun Iam Hall is the most important hall of the temple. Kun Iam, dressed in embroidered silk and wearing a crown, is flanked by the Eighteen Buddhas. One of them is said to be carved in the image of Marco Polo, who studied Buddhism in the temple.

At the back of the temple are terraced gardens. The first Sino-American treaty,  the Wong Ha (Wangxia) Treaty, was signed on one of the stone desks here. In addition, many calligraphic masterpieces and other cultural relics have been brought together in this temple.